The “Wonder Woman” Movie Is Trying Too Hard To Be Empowering

Catholic In The 21st Century

My first thoughts upon watching the Wonder Woman trailer:

Trying too hard.

Wonder Woman is trying to be empowering.

How?

One way is with dialogue like this:

“I can’t let you do this.”

“What I do is not up to you.”

“What is a ‘secretary’?”

“I go where he tells me to go and do what he tells me to do.”

“Well where I’m from that’s called ‘slavery.'”

“I really like her.”

And I thought God’s Not Dead was preachy…

I think Woman Woman is trying too hard to be empowering, for two reasons:

First:

I have nothing against empowered women, in fiction or in real life.

But:

When the empowerment message is so in-my-face I feel insulted, because it’s like the filmmakers are treating me like a baby who can’t understand anything unless it’s spoon-fed to me.

Picture37 “Open up the tunnel. Here comes the feminism.”

Second:

If this trailer is anything…

View original post 308 more words

Leave a Reply

