How 343 Industries gets equality wrong

Catholic In The 21st Century

Note #1: This post is me expressing my personal opinion.

Note #2: This post contains artistic depictions of male and female nudity.

With Halo 4, 343 got criticized because one of the two female characters, the A.I. Cortana, was naked.

Cortana6

In response to this criticism, in Halo 5 343 made a male A.I., Governor Sloan, naked.

Governor

This makes me facepalm.

Halo Spartan

Here’s why:

When people criticize Cortana because she’s naked, I imagine it’s because people think “naked = sex” — that if a character is naked, than the reason has to do with sex.

When people see one of the two female characters in a story is naked all the time, the thought, understandably, is “Cortana is a sex object.”

That’s not how I, personally, choose to see Cortana.

How I see Cortana ties into why I have a problem with Governor Sloan being naked.

Here’s how:

Frank O’Connor, the Franchise…

View original post 388 more words

Leave a Reply

